As part of its mandate to encourage and develop the interdisciplinary and multi-disciplinary study of the relations between law and society, the CLSA awards a number of prizes for scholarship on law and society. Winners are announced at the annual meeting in early summer.

The CLSA Book Prize is awarded annually for the best book on law and society published in the previous year in English or in French.

The CLSA Article Prize is awarded for the best article published in the Canadian Journal of Law & Society. For English articles, the award is given annually for an article published in the previous year. For French articles, the award is given biennially for articles published in the two previous years.

The Roderick A. Macdonald Graduate Student Essay Prize is awarded annually for the best essay on a topic in law and society written by a graduate student at a Canadian university.

For further information or to nominate books or student essays, contact the CLSA at


Use the tabs below to view our recent winners:


2016: Craig Forcese and Kent Roach, False Security: The Radicalization of Canadian Anti-Terrorism (Toronto: Irwin Law, 2015).

Short listed: Sarah Biddulph, The Stability Imperative: Human Rights and Law in China (Vancouver: UBC Press, 2015).

Short listed: David Fraser, "Honorary Protestants": The Jewish School Question in Montreal, 1867-1997 (Toronto: University of Toronto Press for Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal History, 2015).

2015: Richard Weisman, Showing Remorse: Law and the Social Control of Emotion (Farnham: Ashgate, 2014).

Honourable mention: Dominique Clément, Equality Deferred: Sex Discrimination and British Columbia’s Human Rights State, 1953-84 (Vancouver: UBC Press and Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal History, 2014).

2014: Mary Anne Waldron, Free to Believe: Rethinking Freedom of Conscience and Religion in Canada (Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2013).

2013: R. Blake Brown, Arming and Disarming: A History of Gun Control in Canada (Toronto: University of Toronto Press and Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal History, 2012).

Honourable mention: Shelley Gavigan, Hunger, Horses, and Government Men: Criminal Law on the Aboriginal Plains, 1870-1905 (Vancouver: UBC Press and Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal History, 2012).

Honourable mention: David Milward, Aboriginal Justice and the Charter: Realizing a Culturally Sensitive Interpretation of Legal Rights (Vancouver: UBC Press, 2012).

2011: John Borrows, Canada’s Indigenous Constitution (Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2010).

Honourable mention: Ken Leyton-Brown, The Practice of Execution in Canada (Vancouver: UBC Press, 2010).


CLSA Article Prize (English)

2016: G. Blaine Baker, "Testamentary Archeology in Late-Victorian Ontario: William Martin's Little, Posthumous Legal System" (2015) 30 CJLS 345-63.

Honourable mention: Anita Lam and Lily Cho, "Under the Lucky Moose: Belatedness and Citizen's Arrest in Canada" (2015) 30 CJLS 147-62.

2015: Eva Mackey, “Unsettling Expectations: (Un)Certainty, Settler States of Feeling, Law, and Decolonization” (2014) 29 CJLS 235-52.

Honourable mention: Lori Chamber and Jen Roth, “Prejudice Unveiled: The Niqab in Court” (2014) 29 CJLS 381-95.

2014: Shiri Pasternak, Sue Collis and Tia Dafnos, “Criminalization at Tyendinaga: Securing Canada’s Colonial Property Regime through Specific Land Claims” (2013) 28 CJLS 65-81.

Honorable mention: Matthew Tomm, “Public Reason and the Disempowerment of Aboriginal People in Canada” (2013) 28 CJLS 293-314.

2013: Sarah Marsden, “The New Precariousness: Temporary Migrants and the Law in Canada” (2012) 27 CJLS 209-29.

Honourable mention: Sarah Hamill, “Making the Law Work: Alberta’s Liquor Act and the Control of Medicinal Liquor from 1916 to 1924” (2012) 27 CJLS 249-65.

2011: Lori Chambers, “Women’s Labour, Relationship Breakdown and Ownership of the Family Farm” (2010) 25 CJLS 75-95.


CLSA Article Prize (French)

2015: Ronald Niezen and Marie-Pierre Gadoua, “Témoignage et histoire dans la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation du Canada” (2014) 29 CJLS 21-42.

2013: Richard Dubé, “La théorie de dissuasion remise en question par la rationalité du risque” (2012) 27 CJLS 1-29.

2011: Sébastien Grammond, “L’appartenance aux communatés inuit du Nunavik: un cas de réception de l’ordre juridique inuit?” (2008) 23 CJLS 93-119.


Roderick A. Macdonald CLSA Student Essay Prize

2016 (joint winner): Évelyne Jean-Bouchard, "Pour une approche féministe du pluralisme juridique: le jeu des lois révisité"

2016 (joint winner): Daniel Huizenga, "Articulations of Aboriginal Title, Indigenous Rights, and Living Customary Law in South Africa"

CSLA Student Essay Prize

2015: Rebecca Bromwich, “Re-Reading the Ashley Smith Case: Necropolitical Exclusion and Multiple Agencies”

Honourable mention: Yael Machtinger, “Socio-Legal Gendered Remedies to Get Refusal: Top Down, Bottom Up”

Honourable mention: Cindy Gagnon, “L’instauration du Programme des travailleurs agricoles saisonniers (PTAS): Les pratiques canadiennes remises en question sous l’angle de la ‘vulnérabilisation’ des travailleurs étrangers”